

ASIA-OCEANIA ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF OBESITY



MINUTES OF THE 21st ASIA-OCEANIA ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF OBESITY (AOASO) COUNCIL MEETING

Date: 31 August, 2019 (Saturday)

Time: 11:50 AM - 13:50 PM

Venue: Studio 4, Level 6, Conrad Seoul, Seoul, Korea

PRESENT:

AOASO Main Office Bearers

1.	Prof. Brian Oldfield	ANZOS	President
2.	Prof. Leonard Kyoung Kon Kim	KSSO	Vice-President
3.	Dr. Kwang Wei Tham	SASO	Secretary
4.	Dr. Gaga Irawan Nugraha	ISSO	Treasurer
5.	Prof. Timothy Gill	ANZOS	Education Chair
6.	Emeritus Prof. Mohd Ismail Noor	MASO	Immediate Past President
7.	Prof. Brett Kuo-Chin Huang	TMASO	Past President and Co-Editor-in-Chief, Obesity Research & Clinical Practice (ORCP)
8.	Prof. lan Caterson	ANZOS	Past President (AOASO & WOF)

AOASO National Representatives

1.	Ms Jane Martin	ANZOS	President
2.	Prof. Elaine Rush	ANZOS	New Zealand representative
3.	Dr. Pallavi Sodhi Patankar	AIAARO	Proxy
4.	Prof. Francis Chun Chung Chow	HKASO	President
5.	Dr. Gaga Irawan Nugraha	ISSO	Vice-President
6.	Prof. Kayuzo Tsushita	JASSO	Proxy,
7.	Prof. Kwan-Woo Lee	KSSO	Chairman, Board of Director
8.	Emeritus Prof. Mohd Ismail Noor	MASO	President
9.	Dr. Mia C. Fojas	PASOO	President
10.	Dr. Benjamin Lam	ANZOS	Vice-President
11.	Prof. Yi-Ching Yang	TMASO	President
12.	Dr. Piyamart Suvansanya	BARSO	Secretary



ASIA-OCEANIA ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF OBESITY



Observers

1.	Mr. Marko Sanovic		Melbourne Convention Bureau, Presenting on behalf of ANZOS for the ICO 2022 Bid
2.	Mr. Mike Pickford	ANZOS	via Skype; ASN Events, Secretariat, Presenting on behalf of ANZOS for the ICO 2022 Bid
3.	Prof. Alice Pik Shan Kong	HKASO	Council Member
4.	Dr. Michele Yuen	HKOS	President; Presenting on behalf of HKOS for the ICO 2022 Bid
5.	Prof. Yung-Im Hur	KSSO	Vice-Director, Committee of International Affairs
6.	Ms. Geeta Appannah	MASO	Secretary
7.	A/P Hazizi Abu Saad	MASO	Treasurer
8.	Mr. Mohd Razif Shahril	MASO	Member
9.	A/P Hamid Jan Bin Jan Mohamed	MASO	Life Member
10.	Dr. Mas Rizky Syamsurnarmo	ISSO	Chairman, Research Committee
11.	Dr. Phong Ching Lee	SASO	Treasurer
12.	Dr. Sonali Ganguly	SASO	Council Member
13.	Prof. Chih-Jen Chang	TMASO	Board Director
14.	Prof. Wen-Yuan Lin	TMASO	Board Director
15.	Dr. Kuen-Cheh Yang	TMASO	Vice-Secretary
16.	Dr. Tsung Po Chen	TMASO	Member

World Obesity Federation (WOF) Representatives:

1. Prof. Donna **Ryan** President

2. Prof. John **Wilding** President-Elect (via Skype)

Ms. Claudia Batz Communications & Partnership Officer
 Mr. Matthew Barlow Professional Educations & Events Officer
 (Ms. Batz & Mr. Barlow: On behalf of Ms. Shaba Haque, WOF, Head of Events)

Absent with apology:

1.	Prof. Gary Wittert	ANZOS	Co-Editor-in-Chief, ORCP
2.	Prof. Yuji Matsuzawa		Past President, AOASO
3.	Dr. Banshi Saboo	AIAARO	President
4.	Prof. Ken Kyu-Rae Lee	KSSO	President
5.	Prof. Chaicharn Deerochanawong	TSSO	Secretary
6.	Ms. Johanna Rolston	WOF	Chief Executive
7	Ms. Shaba Haque	WOF	Head of Events



ASIA-OCEANIA ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF OBESITY



All representatives from the World Obesity Federation (WOF), country representatives of the AOASO and representatives presenting for the International Congress on Obesity (ICO) 2022 and the Asia-Oceania Conference on Obesity (AOCO) 2021 were verified to be present after attendance was taken. The meeting was commenced at 11:50 AM. Prof. John Wilding, President-Elect of WOF and representative of WOF for the ICO host bidding process, joined the meeting live via Skype (from Paris).

1) Opening Address and Adoption of Agenda

1.1 Professors Brian Oldfield and Donna Ryan welcomed all present. Prof. Donna Ryan explained the procedure of the bidding process of the ICO 2022. Two societies under the umbrella of the WOF had submitted their interest to WOF to host the ICO 2022, Hong Kong Obesity Society (HKOS) and Australia New Zealand Obesity Society (ANZOS). The attendance of the representatives from HKOS and ANZOS presenting for the bid was verified. Each society would be allotted 20 minutes for presentation followed by a 10-minute of questions and answer session. A standard set of questions by WOF would be put to representatives of both societies.

1.2 The agenda for Day 2 of the 21st AOASO Council Meeting was approved by the Council and the meeting was called to order at 12:00 PM.

2) Bidding Process to Host the 15th ICO in 2022

- 2.1 Dr. Michele Yuen, President of HKOS, gave her presentation for HKOS' bid to host for ICO 2022. Prior to Dr. Yuen's presentation, representatives of ANZOS presenting for the bid were asked to leave the meeting room. After Dr. Yuen's presentation, questions by WOF were answered.
- 2.2 Ms. Jane Martin, President of ANZOS, and Mr. Marko Sanovic from the Melbourne Convention Bureau, gave their presentation for ANZOS' bid for Melbourne to host for ICO 2022. Prior to ANZOS' presentation, representatives of HKOS presenting for the bid were asked to leave the meeting room. After ANZOS' presentations, questions by WOF were answered. Mr. Mike Pickford from ASN Events, Secretariat of ANZOS, joined the meeting via Skype to assist in some of the questions.

2.3 Voting Process:

An anonymous and confidential voting process was carried out under the supervision of Prof Brian Oldfield and Donna Ryan. Out of the 12 AOASO society representatives present, representatives from Australia and Hong Kong abstained from voting. Each of the remaining 10 representatives received a numbered voting slip to indicate their choice. Prof. Donn Ryan and John Wilding were each given a voting slip each. Prof. Leonard Kim



ASIA-OCEANIA ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF OBESITY



and Dr. Kwang Wei Tham counted and tallied all the votes with Prof. Brian Oldfield and Donna Ryan as witnesses. Out of the 13 votes, 12 votes went to Melbourne and 1 vote went to Hong Kong.

2.4 Host of the 15th ICO 2022: Prof. Donna Ryan congratulated representatives of HKOS and ANZOS for their impressive presentations and declared Melbourne the host of the 15th ICO 2022.

3) Bidding Presentation to Host the 11th AOCO in 2021

- 3.1 Two AOASO societies, All Indian Association for Advancing Research in Obesity (AIAARO) and Malaysian Association for the Study of Obesity (MASO), submitted their interest to AOASO President, Prof. Brian Oldfield, to host the 11th AOCO in 2021.
- 3.2 Prior to the commencement of the council meeting on 31 August, 2019, Dr. Pallavi Patankar informed the Council via Prof. Brian Oldfield that AIAARO had decided to withdraw their bid to host the AOCO 2021 and that she had been appointed the proxy for today's meeting by AIAARO. Dr. Banshi Saboo, President of AIAARO, was absent from the meeting and could not be contacted for verification.
- 3.3 Ms.Geeta Appannah, Secretary of MASO, presented MASO's original bid to host the 11th AOCO in Kuala Lumpur in 2021. Questions were appropriately answered.
- 3.4 There was no objection raised by the Council and AOASO country representatives to MASO being the host of the next AOCO in 2021. Prof. Brian Oldfield declared MASO the host of the 11th AOCO in 2021.

4) Any Other Business:

Nil

5) There being no other matters, the meeting was adjourned at 13:20 PM.

Minutes Prepared by:

Minutes Vetted by:

Kwang-Wei Tham

Secretary AOASO

AOASO

President

Brian Oldfield